The Language of Infertility…Don’t Get Scared Now

Here’s another great blog post from Josh. We’re loving having an infertility point-of-view from the other side of the aisle!

There was a recent article released in the Huffington Post outlining 3 reasons why infertility is a hushed topic. It is a great article and I highly recommend that anyone struggling with infertility, and those that are not, give it a quick read.  As I read the article I couldn’t help but shake my head with approval and internally scream “YES!!!” and “Thank You!!”  This has been a topic that we have been speaking on for years now, and the information is starting to spread.

However, as I thought more on the article, I realized it only scratched the surface; 3 reasons why is it hushed? Only 3?  I think I can find 10 times that just scrolling through our twitter feed each night.  Just off hand, the words, stress, embarrassment, sperm capitation and fallopian tube come to mind.  How many men just cringed reading ‘sperm capitation’?  How many actually made it past fallopian tube?  I am sure less than you would think.  And therein lies the significant problem.

The Huffington Post article alludes to this topic, but doesn’t dive deeply into it; that’s what I am here for.Man Scratching Head

The language that is used in the fertility world is not for the faint of heart. We commonly speak of vaginal fluid, sperm, lubrication, and oh so many more.  A lot of men, including myself, for a long time, are not good at conversations that include this (I picture I lot of red faces and abrupt trips to Lowes to avoid the conversation).  This language is not in our everyday lexicon. Maybe it is because we think that it is not masculine to talk about this stuff, but I believe the opposite.  Speaking as a man, I would hope my wife would find it rather refreshing to hear me speak on this topic not fearful of embarrassment or shame.  This is life, guys, nothing is embarrassing about it.  Heck, maybe the ladies will find our new appreciation for technical terms sexy.

Here are some of the terms that we should not be afraid of and why:

Sperm – it’s life, without sperm you wouldn’t be here, nor would your partner.

Eggs – see sperm. Pretty important stuff.

Sperm Capacitation – sperm capacitation is a natural and essential process when a woman’s natural conception lubrication dissolves the immobilizing cholesterol from the sperm and creates an enzyme to allow the sperm to fertilize the ovum. That’s a lot of technical speak for a natural process required for a sperm to fertilize an egg.

Lubrication/ Vaginal fluid – important aspect to creating the a fertile environment for sperm travel. Visit http://www.keytoconceive.com/    for more information.

Sex – well, if I have to explain this one, we have a bigger issue to deal with.

Now, I know this conversation won’t be as easy as talking about football with your buddies, but just like in that conversation you know the ins and outs of a 3-4 defense, you need to know about reproduction and the factors that apply.

Leave a Reply

